Increased Benefit Amount

Increased Benefit Amount

What is the COVID-19 Increased Benefit Amount (IBA)?

IBA was created by North Carolina’s HB 1105, Coronavirus Relief Act 3.0.

People who are eligible for the COVID-19 Increased Benefit Amount will receive a $50 increase in their weekly unemployment benefit amount starting with the benefit week that began on Sept. 6 through no later than the benefit week ending Dec. 26, 2020. 

When will IBA be paid?

The North Carolina Division of Employment Security will begin issuing payments for the $50 Increased Weekly Benefit Amount (IBA) program to eligible unemployment claimants the weekend of Oct. 17 -18. 

People do not need to file a separate claim for IBA. Those who are eligible will automatically receive a $50 retroactive increase in their weekly unemployment benefit amount starting with the benefit week that began on Sept. 6 through no later than Dec. 26, 2020.

 Who is eligible for IBA?

A person’s eligibility for the Increased Benefit Amount depends on whether they are receiving state unemployment benefits or federal unemployment benefits, and when they initially filed for benefits. 

  • People receiving state unemployment insurance benefits: Under the new state law, all claimants receiving state unemployment insurance benefits during the weeks of the IBA program will be eligible for the $50 Increased Benefit Amount. This is the case whether the person filed their initial claim for benefits before or after Sept. 6, 2020.
  • People receiving Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation, Extended Benefits or Trade Readjustment Allowance: According to the U.S. Department of Labor, if a claimant’s weekly benefit amount for state unemployment insurance was not increased before moving into one these federal programs, the claimant will not be eligible for the $50 Increased Benefit Amount. 
  • People receiving Pandemic Unemployment Assistance: According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the weekly benefit amount for this federal program is determined by the benefit calculation that was in effect at the time the claim was initially filed. Claims filed before Sept. 6 will not be eligible for the $50 Increased Benefit Amount. Claims filed on or after Sept. 6 will be eligible for the $50 Increased Benefit Amount or the weekly benefit amount will be raised to the federally-set minimum for PUA, whichever is higher.