home-page

North Carolina Division of Employment Security

The Division of Employment Security is working hard to help North Carolinians understand unemployment insurance and receive the benefits for which they are eligible. If you have questions or need assistance with your claim:

  • Find out the status of your claim at any time by phone or by clicking on the Claim Status tab in your online account.
  • Chat with one of our agents here at des.nc.gov or call our Customer Call Center for assistance. 
  • Check our website frequently for updated FAQs and information for individuals and employers.

Please note that NCWorks Career Centers do not process unemployment claims, and staff at those offices cannot answer specific questions about your claim.

Online Account Access

Create Account

Individuals: Create an Online Account to file for unemployment.

Employers: Create an Online Account to manage your tax and unemployment information.

News and Alerts

Lost Wages Assistance Approved for Six Weeks

The Division of Employment Security has received funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to pay six weeks of Lost Wages Assistance (LWA) to eligible North Carolinians. 

LWA provides a $300 supplemental payment to unemployment benefits for people who have an unemployment benefit amount of at least $100 a week and are out of work due to COVID-19.  

LWA is available for the benefit weeks ending August 1, August 8, August 15, August 22, August 29 and September 5. 

The Division of Employment Security has already issued payments for the first four weeks of LWA. Payments for the fifth and sixth weeks are expected to begin on Sept. 16 and continue over several days. 

FEMA has notified states that funding will not be made available for any additional weeks of LWA.

Learn more about LWA.

Benefits Charging for Reimbursable Employers  

In accordance with Executive Order No. 118, the Division of Employment Security is not charging employers’ accounts for benefits that have been paid to individuals for reasons related to COVID-19. 

Employers recently received a list of charges to their account showing all unemployment insurance benefits paid during the second quarter of 2020. 

This is not a bill, and employers are not required to submit payment with regards to these charges. It is generated for reporting purposes for the state to seek federal reimbursement for the charges. Employers will receive a reimbursement statement in November reflecting all credits due to their account. 

Employers: Paycheck Protection Program

Employers who received a Paycheck Protection Program loan should use the following Earnings Report Form to report to the Division of Employment Security payments they made to employees under the program.

Employer Earnings Report Form 

Employer Earnings Report Form Additional Page

We’re Hiring!

The North Carolina Division of Employment Security is looking for dedicated, motivated employees to join our team. With remote positions available, there are opportunities for people across North Carolina. Learn more about Jobs at NCDES.

Employer Tax Credit 

Under North Carolina’s COVID-19 Recovery Act (S.L. 2020-3), employers will receive a tax credit towards their contribution to the state’s Unemployment Insurance Fund. The credit is equal to the amount of the employer’s contribution due to the fund for the first quarter of 2020. 

Employers do not need to do anything to receive this credit other than to file their 1Q2020 Tax and Wage Report. Employers must file the report to receive the credit.

Any payments made for the first quarter will automatically be applied to any contributions due for the second quarter of 2020. If the amount of the credit is higher than the contributions due, the difference will be refunded. 

Please note that any outstanding employer bills for the first quarter of 2020 are no longer due and will be cancelled.

DES Proposed Rules

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-21.1, DES intends to adopt a temporary rule-.04 NCAC 24G .0104.   The public hearing is July 7,  2020.  Notice of the temporary rule is posted on the OAH website.